HOW MANY CALORIES DO I EAT?

Options
Okay so myfitnesspal told me to eat 1600 BUT on the other hand people from the gym told me 1200... I'm 5'4 & I weigh 202lbs my ideal goal is to be at 140 but right now I would like to be 170. I exercise two days out of the week. I do weights and cardio for an hour. Thanks! :)

Replies

• myheartsabattleground
    myheartsabattleground Posts: 2,040 Member
    Options
    What are the college qualifications of the people at the gym ?
  • jkenglish61
    jkenglish61 Posts: 15 Member
    Options
    From my experience and I am no expert. You need to do cardio at least 3-4 times per week. I am 5'4" and my calorie intake is 1200/day for 2 lbs/week. Just my opinion. I am by no means a professional.
  • sunflowerxoxo
    sunflowerxoxo Posts: 4 Member
    Options
    Thanks, I guess 1200 will do !
  • malibu927
    malibu927 Posts: 17,565 Member
    Options
    If MFP told you 1600, why not try that for a few weeks and see if you lose? I've lost 60 pounds so far and I've never eaten less than 1500 calories.
  • jaqcan
    jaqcan Posts: 498 Member
    Options

If you put in accurate information in the MFP profile, eat what it tells you.
  • jenncornelsen
    jenncornelsen Posts: 969 Member
    Options
    i eat 1650 calories a day at 5'4 and am losing 1-1 1/2lbs a week. honestly why eat less is u can lose eating more? it makes no sense to me. eat what mfp tells u to. just try it.
  • sunflowerxoxo
    Options
    Thanks ladies! Will try the first week with 1600 and see any results.
  • atypicalsmith
    atypicalsmith Posts: 2,742 Member
    Options
    I read somewhere (NOT on MFP) that you should eat ten times your goal weight. My goal weight is 110, so I should eat 1100 calories a day. Yours is 170, so that's 1700. When you change your goal, then change the caloric intake.
  • sunflowerxoxo
    Options
    malibu927 wrote: »