Emotional Eating and Struggle with Motivation

Options
KiwiKamikaze
KiwiKamikaze Posts: 31 Member
edited May 2015 in Health and Weight Loss
So, please don't judge me: this is my first time ever really asking anyone about this, let alone in a public forum...If you want to just skip to my question without having to read my personal history, just ignore the sectioned off paragraphs.

Skip the below if you want. It's my background
I'm not severely overweight, but I still need to lose some weight to be in a healthy range (or meet my own body goals). I don't really care what my end weight is so much as wanting my body to look strong, lean and healthy. Which I'm assuming is a common goal.

I'm sure no one needs to know this, but here's a little background on my body. My metabolism slowed down when I was in high school, probably because my diet wasn't the best. Maybe not the worst, but a lot of cheaper food. I also grew up in a household where nearly all my family members drink soda. I didn't really understand how bad soda was for me until early in high school, but I just didn't know how to stop (I will get into that a little later). I ended up gaining some weight at the end of high school. But when I got to college, I became a very active person for about 2.5 years. I took fitness classes all through college, I went to the gym almost every day to run, walked to my classes, and just in general led an active lifestyle. Now, again, my body never looked completely how I wanted. And I didn't discover weight lifting until the end of that 2.5 years.
I also ended up getting pretty sick at the end of that and shortly after diagnosed with hypothyroidism. While I was sick, I gained a probably 20lbs (I am a very petite girl, so 20lbs on me is quite a bit). My fitness dropped off first when I got sick, and I am assuming that is why I gained weight. Because my eating didn't change, but my fitness did. Therefore, my body wasn't using all the calories I had been using before.