Flexibility and Mobility...Don't put it on the back-burner!

Options
Hello all,

As a physical therapist I feel like it it my duty to provide education on the importance of achieving and maintaining adequate flexibility and mobility. Not only does it help to decrease pain and increase performance, it also decreases pain and stiffness. There are numerous tactics to use to increase your mobility and flexibility and I'd really like to get a discussion going on what works for different people and share my advice on the topic.

I did a blog post on the topic to provide you with a place to start.

http://www.myfitnesspal.com/blog/Physiobody/view/need-to-limber-up-try-this-routine-747714

Replies

• BetterYet
    BetterYet Posts: 20 Member
    Options
    "Classical Stretch" dvd series works for me. It is pilates and yoga based and I have had tremendous results! My body feels alive because my flexibility has increased as well as circulation. I also like the barre! That will get you in touch with those tight muscles for sure!
  • Physiobody
    Physiobody Posts: 19 Member
    Options
    I'll have to check that out. Have you heard of Yoga Tune-up by Jill Michaels I believe? I just heard her on a podcast and it sounds really interesting. I'm looking into starting that myself to see what it's all about.
  • luluinca
    luluinca Posts: 2,899 Member
    Options
    Thanks for the link.............I do a lot of those already but some will be new and very beneficial at my age. I'm recovering from a hip flexor injury right now so may have to wait on a few of them.
  • Physiobody
    Options
    I've had the same problem at times. Have you don't any light foam rolling or tissue massage to help speed up the process and relieve pain?
  • Sam_I_Am77
    Sam_I_Am77 Posts: 2,093 Member
    Options
    Kelley Sterrit (spelling?) is an excellent resource for this subject-matter and he also has a free YouTube channel.
  • SideSteel
    SideSteel Posts: 11,068 Member
    Options