Have you tried GLP1 medications and found it didn't work for you? We'd like to hear about your experiences, what you tried, why it didn't work and how you're doing now. Click here to tell us your story

Gaining weight instead of losing

I've been working my butt off exercising and gaining a few pounds instead of losing while dieting. I currently do 4 1 hour sessions of combat hapkido, along with kickboxing 4 to 5x a week. I've been doing hapkido for 4 months and kickboxing for a little over a month. I should add that I do have hypothyroidism and am at the low end of normal. I keep my calories under 1500 daily. I've done some research and found this is actually common, however it doesn't do much for motivation. I do feel better and I'm getting some muscle tone in my arms and legs. Can anyone suggest something that may be able to help kickstart losing weight along with my routine? Thanks!

Replies

• lucyholdcroft363
    lucyholdcroft363 Posts: 124 Member
    New muscles retain water! Hang in there for a couple of weeks, track your progress and see what happens! If nothing changes, make alterations to your diet and switch up your exercise.
  • shadow2soul
    shadow2soul Posts: 7,692 Member
    Are you using a food scale?
  • lccnhunter
    lccnhunter Posts: 7 Member
    Thanks! No, I've never used a food scale. I just monitor portion size and calorie intake.
    I'm getting tons of cardio and strength training doing both hapkido and kickboxing. For instance, my last hapkido class we did 120 push-ups, 70 squats and are constantly moving, running, kicking, punching etc. I am seeing results as far as muscle definition but I would really really like to drop 30 lbs. I'm in no massive hurry, I just thought for sure after 4 months, something would be changing on the scale.
    Thanks again!!
  • shadow2soul
    edited May 2015
    You might want to consider getting one. I think it's possible that you might be eating a bit more than you think.