Any other teachers getting fit this summer?

Options
aghack
aghack Posts: 107 Member
Hi everyone!

I'm a middle school Civics teacher in Florida. I am one week away from finishing my second full year of teaching, and I am planning on spending this summer completely overhauling my lifestyle. With all the crazy hours, lunches spent grading, and weekends spent prepping, I have really let things go.

Last summer, in an effort to become a super teacher, I spent most of the summer in professional development. This year is going to be all about working out, relaxing, and recharging. I need it!

Are there any other teachers that would like to help keep each other motivated? I have a fitbit, a gym membership, and serious desire to change. I'm 37, female, and at 5'7", 198lbs I'm really in desperate need to get this under control.

Replies

• momma2ZKL
    momma2ZKL Posts: 47 Member
    Options
    I'm 40 and this was my first full year in kindergarten! We have 6 days to go, but it's my 10th year teaching. I have lost almost 40 pounds since October and have 4.5 to go - hoping to finally make my goal this summer! I tried to get into shape last year, but with a baby p, trying to find a different school to work out that valued a life outside of school, and trying to buy a house it just didn't happen until the fall:)
  • jlisah
    jlisah Posts: 31 Member
    Options
    Feel free to add me as an accountability buddy! I teach middle school music in NJ, and teaching could take all the available time that I have to give it in a day. I am usually the first car in the parking lot in the a.m. and last one to leave at night, and hardly feel motivated to hit the gym or exercise at home after days like that. I have lost 12 lbs. so far this year but have a ways to go!
  • M3lodica
    M3lodica Posts: 8 Member
    Options