Noob

Options
pigbox
pigbox Posts: 9 Member
Hi all. I'm new to MFP but not to the life-long aggravation of weight loss. I'm a 41 year old lady. Tall and formerly athletic. About 50 pounds to lose. I'm on a 1200 calorie a day/ exercise 5x a week plan. I'm finishing up my first week. I feel accomplished - setting a tough goal and making progress is great. I lost 5 pounds which is great. But I'm also crabby and hungry. Depriving myself of pizza and cocktails is the pits. Trying to re-frame - healthy people eat like this - and so if I want to be a healthy person this is what that looks like. My user name is a combination of my cats' nicknames. Yeah, that's what we're doing here :) Nice to meet you.

Replies

• arditarose
    arditarose Posts: 15,574 Member
    Options
    You could eat more than 1200 calories and have pizza once in awhile.
  • pigbox
    Options
    Thanks, arditarose. My issue in the past has been letting myself off the hook too easily. Like, "Oh it's cool to have pizza today because I had a salad for lunch and I'll run tomorrow." That mindset really hasn't helped me at all. It seems like this level of restriction, at least to start, is what I need to get things re-set. Once I make some more progress it'll be easier to let go once in a while I hope.
  • arditarose
    Options
    pigbox wrote: »
    Thanks, arditarose. My issue in the past has been letting myself off the hook too easily. Like, "Oh it's cool to have pizza today because I had a salad for lunch and I'll run tomorrow." That mindset really hasn't helped me at all. It seems like this level of restriction, at least to start, is what I need to get things re-set. Once I make some more progress it'll be easier to let go once in a while I hope.