Karate (Shotokan, Wado-Ryu, WKF type stuff)

Options
Hi Guys!

Haven't seen anything of this ilk on here before, so thought I would start a thread about Karate. Does anyone on here regularly practice Karate? If so...

What Style?:
How long have you trained for?:
Where do you train? (e.g. club, city, country):
How often do you train?:
What grade are you?:
Do you compete?:

One of the main reasons for hitting my weight loss/fitness goals is so that I can start Karate again, I was superfit and a half-decent competitor when I was a kid, and I really miss it :smile:

Replies

• PurpleYFronts
    PurpleYFronts Posts: 344 Member
    Options
    I've been training Wado Ryu/Kai Karate for many years on and off. Been back at it for the last 14months and just trying to play catchup with my grades. Going for 4th kyu this Saturday, so looking forward to that.
    I'm not overly concerned with competition anymore, at 44 it becomes less a priority, rather learning more about why techniques are applied in Kata, Kihons etc.
    I'm not a big fan of where the WKF is taking karate, it's overly flamboyant, theatrical and non-traditional. Is karate in the Olympics a good thing? I don't think so, TKD was destroyed in its attempts to gain Olympic status and now is nothing more than theatrics in pads with only kicking and unrecognized from its original form. Were Karate to stay truer to its traditional roots, both in terms of kumite and kata, it wouldn't fit in with the Olympics watery expectations as too many people would get injured. So, while I like that Karate would get great coverage, it's just that it wouldn't be a true representation of traditional karate and that is a shame. Just my thoughts
  • whatyouwill
    whatyouwill Posts: 71 Member
    Options
    That's an inter