Jillian Michaels...how do I figure out how many calories I've burned?

Options
So, I am fairly new to MFP... Just started tracking my calories and working out again this week... I am having trouble figuring out how to log some of my work outs accurately... For example, I just finished doing work out one of the Jillian Michaels 30 day shred video... It is only 20 minutes, it is an INTENSE 20 mins, combining strength and cardio...MFP has it burning less cals than I would think (or hope!! Lol)...how would you log it? Under strength or cardio? Thanks!! :)

Replies

• c1aireee
    c1aireee Posts: 297 Member
    Options
    I put it under cardio then circuit training
  • astrampe
    astrampe Posts: 2,169 Member
    Options
    It won't burn that much calories - it is not HIIT, so not a crazy burn in 20 minutes...Get a heart rate monitor - lots of things will make a difference - intensity, weight (doing the shred with 10 lbs weighs instead of 3 pounders) and so on....
  • jvs125
    jvs125 Posts: 223 Member
    Options
    I second - cardio / circuit training.

We tend to overestimate our calorie burn from workouts, and underestimate our calorie consumption. So even if the calorie count seems low, keep it as is and eat within the calories you have left to see better results.
  • elizabethdharvey
    elizabethdharvey Posts: 7 Member
    Options
    Thanks everyone :) Yep...using 8 lb weights so hopefully that will help...we are going to Disney and then the beach in 39 days and I'm trying to lose a little weight and tone up as quickly as possible!! I've even given up my wine
  • elizabethdharvey
    Options
    Lol
  • hnaquin280
    hnaquin280 Posts: 26 Member
    Options
    Thanks everyone :) Yep...using 8 lb weights so hopefully that will help...we are going to Disney and then the beach in 39 days and I'm trying to lose a little weight and tone up as quickly as possible!! I've even given up my wine

Brave lady! Haha I could never give up my wine
  • chandramiller68