Lifting heavy but still got bingo wings - Help!

Options
Hi,

I'm female and 29 years old. I weigh about 150lbs and am roughly 25% body fat. I originally started with about 1 year of moderate exercise (general weight loss, DVDS, walking etc.) and this last year has been much more intense exercise focusing on body weight reps and HIIT. Now I’ve been lifting heavy for about 3 months and loving it. However, whilst I've noticed a huge difference in most of my body I cannot seem to decrease the fatty parts under my arms (Triceps, or in my case bingo wings!). My biceps are pretty solid and when I twist my arm I have a tricep muscle but the fat still hangs low when holding my arm up (think waving position). Seeing as I’ve been doing push ups and tricep dips (etc.) for more than a year and now with the heavy lifting should I be noticing more of a difference? I know everyone changes at different paces but I was wondering if anyone had any tips for exercises that help this area? I am relatively new to heavy lifting so maybe I’m missing some good exercises. Or maybe I’m eating incorrectly. Any tips would be great.

Just to note, i have other bits of fatty stores too (thighs and love handles - classic womanly fatty places) but I’m content that I can see these changing slowly so I don’t think I’m being too impatient!

Replies

• Sued0nim
    Sued0nim Posts: 17,456 Member
    Options
    What programme are you following?

(the answer will be time, body fat reduction and a progressive lifting programme but you still may have excess skin cos genetics)
  • NaomiMc_Ra
    NaomiMc_Ra Posts: 64 Member
    Options
    I have a trainer once a week but I lift 3 times a week (once with her and 2 by myself). We're doing compound weight movements mainly such as deadlifts, lunges, squats, pull-ups and dips (amongst other things). Doing 6 reps and 3 sets for the majority of the free weight exercises and increasing weights once a week.