Protein Shake for breakfast?

Options
MissAmyx
MissAmyx Posts: 48 Member
Hello

Would it be a bad idea to start the day with a protein shake? Like a pre-made one? I struggle to both eat much food in the morning and get enough protein throughout the day so I thought this might be a good way to deal with the two things at once.
Would this be a bad habit to get into?

I just don't want to be one of those "milkshake" diet people but yeah i find quite often my breakfast consists of just coffee/tea and then nothing else until lunch eating food in the morning just makes me feel icky i thought perhaps a protein shake would be a bit more substantial

Replies

• RodaRose
    RodaRose Posts: 9,562 Member
    Options
    Good idea. Do whatever helps you reach your goals. smiley-happy088.gif
  • roblawton
    roblawton Posts: 1 Member
    Options
    I'm no expert but surely something is better than nothing.

I'm the same, struggle to eat breakfast and usually just grab a coffee when I get to work.

Since I've been using supplements I do the same, protein and oats in the morning before I leave!
  • neogramps
    neogramps Posts: 79 Member
    Options
    Not a bad habit at all - when I was cutting hard, I had a 2 scoop protein shake with skimmed milk for breakfast. As I started to slow down with cutting, i started adding in a scoop (or a half) of oats, which kept me going til lunch.

Get yourself a big bag of whey rather than pre-mades as it will be a lot cheaper.

And don't think this compare to slim fast or any other crap - slim fast has 26g of sugar a bottle. It is not a well balanced option; it's just a way of limiting calorie intake.
  • PeachyCarol
    PeachyCarol Posts: 8,029 Member
    Options