Cycling to get fitter

Options
joolieb1
joolieb1 Posts: 140 Member
i am a beginner and just bought a road bike. I can cycle for 40 mins but need to get off and walk up steep hills! Have a plan to build up my fitness, any tips out there??

Replies

• beemerphile1
    beemerphile1 Posts: 1,710 Member
    Options
    Stick with it and it gets easier as your fitness improves.

Many road bikes only have a double crankset which makes climbing very difficult. All my bikes have a triple crankset for climbing. My favorite day to day bikes are hybrids which have road bike frame geometry with mountain bike gearing.

Tell us more about your bike.
  • cheshirecatastrophe
    cheshirecatastrophe Posts: 1,395 Member
    Options
    Ride often!

Get yourself some good-quality padded bike shorts and chamois cream (I like Eurostyle Butt'r the best, but test out a few.)

Don't be afraid to invest in a more expensive saddle if you find you just can't get used to the one you've got now.

Wear a helmet that sits properly on your head.

Get a RoadID or take an ID card along with you in case of emergencies--don't trust everything to your phone.

Take a basic bike maintenance class at your local bike shop, or else watch YouTube videos and *practice* in your home. You don't want your first try at changing a flat to be 30 miles from home in the middle of nowhere. :)

+1 to @beemerphile1 - Tell us about your bike!
  • MikeLeTwigg
    MikeLeTwigg Posts: 162 Member
    Options
    Great choice. I started cycling to work as part of my fitness/weight loss regime. Go out as often as you can and have fun. The hills get easier over time.
  • msf74
    msf74 Posts: 3,498 Member
    Options
    joolieb1 wrote: »
    i am a beginner and just bought a road bike. I can cycle for 40 mins but need to get off and walk up steep hills! Have a plan to build up my fitness, any tips out there??

Gradually ride more regularly and / or for longer at a comfortable pace for you. You'll get fitter over time.