Hello! I'm new to the fitness pal. I have GAINED since signi

Options
jdorsey614
jdorsey614 Posts: 17 Member
I went from eating one meal a day, and dropping 3 lbs between days last week, to eating 1250 or less calories. I made the horrible mistake of weighing myself mid day, fully clothed after lunch and I've gained 5 pounds. I'm praying thats not the case when I wake up tomorrow morning. I am soo incredibly disappointed. I went to the store to buy ice cream because I was so upset, but actually managed to stop myself last minute from buying it. I had a string cheese and 6 cheese curls instead and am now over my calorie goal by 28 calories. Still I am even more disappointed at myself. Keep your fingers crossed for my weigh in tomorrow

Replies

• christy_frank
    christy_frank Posts: 680 Member
    Options
    Mid day weight is not accurate. Don't fret.
  • jamielise2
    jamielise2 Posts: 432 Member
    Options
    Never weigh yourself mid day...you gain water and food weight. I always weigh first thing in the morning before I eat anything. You will have more success, too, if you eat several small meals (like 5 or 6) a day, and eat back most of your exercise calories. Try to keep your NET calories between 1150 and 1300 for the day and you'll be fine. Plus, you really want to weigh once a week, twice at most, because water weight and environmental factors affect your weight day to day and hour to hour.
  • Heatherbelle_87
    Heatherbelle_87 Posts: 1,078 Member
    Options
    A) Weighing yourself mid-day is going to make you look like youve gained, anywhere from 1-10 lbs depending on what youre wearing and how much youve ate/drank

B) If you were eating one meal a day you were malnourishing yourself, so the first 1-2 weeks of eating right you might gain, but after that you will DROP pounds
  • nbauwens
    nbauwens Posts: 14
    Options