Resistance training for dummies?

Options
I'm new to all this, and I just want some advice on resistance training. I have 70-90 pounds to lose. I can't go to a gym though, long story short, I have a special needs child who I can't drive alone with, and can't have anyone other than a nurse babysit, so heading out to a gym a few times a week just isn't an option. So I have to do all my exercise and training at home. I don't know where to even begin, buying weights, those big elastics, I don't even know. And then I don't even know what to do with them beside a bicep curl. I have a low back injury, so I'm hesitant to just jump in without a plan. Sigh, I'm feeling discouraged with my ignorance. I'm not used to not knowing much about something I'm pursuing so passionately, lol, it's humbling! Thanks in advance for any help.

Replies

• Cherimoose
    Cherimoose Posts: 5,209 Member
    Options
    You can start with bodyweight exercises the first month or 2, but eventually it's good to invest in some equipment. Many different opinions on this, but i'd start with a pair of adjustable dumbbells and a set of door-mountable resistance bands.
    For a bodyweight routine, try Nerd Fitness's site. For other options, search the archives for titles like "home strength training". It's asked a lot here.

Since you have an injury, the safest approach is to ignore everything i said and work with a physical therapist, or hire a good trainer to come over and give you a customized routine, and check your form. If you can't do that, research form extensively on Youtube, and also video yourself. :+1:
  • nataliewalters5851
    nataliewalters5851 Posts: 14 Member
    Options