Leg pain advice please

Options
mmabry72
mmabry72 Posts: 100 Member
I am having leg pain in my right leg only. Starts with Shin pain (shin splints?) then calf pain and finally knee pain. I can usually run through it but once I stop I hobble around for a few days. I am trying to run 5 days a week but as it is now I am down to 3. Should I just take a week off and see how it does? I am afraid if I take all that time off I will hurt all the gains I have made. Or should I just suck it up Sally and keep working it?

Running History:
Past my prime, a little north of 40
Started running for realz in Nov 2014. 95% road running (concrete/asphalt)
up to 70 miles a month
fast side of slow. Weekly running is @ 9 min pace
Brooks Ravennas (2014 model)
Stability insoles to try to help (advice from running store).
Pain really just started the first of June

Replies

• punkrockgoth
    punkrockgoth Posts: 534 Member
    Options
    I am not a medical professional, nor do I have any training in sports injuries. However, these are the questions I ask myself when I am experiencing pain:

-do I need new shoes?
    -have I been stretching properly?

With running pain, I have found that switching to grass and dirt can help rather than concrete. Also sometimes I do have to take a week off of training. As for losing any gains, you don't lose a lot if you get right back into it, in fact, I've found that I usually perform much better after a recovery week.

Are you doing any cross training at all? Cross training may also help.

Barring all this, see a physiotherapist.
  • cheshirecatastrophe
    cheshirecatastrophe Posts: 1,395 Member
    Options
    You really, really need to take some time off. Hobbling around for a few days after a run is NOT normal. The calf and knee pain indicates that your body is subconsciously adjusting your stride to try to put less stress on your shin (probably the tibia), probably the beginning of an injury chain reaction.