Fat confusion

Options
I am new to this whole dieting thing and I am confused. Based on my totals and goals, I was set on a 2K diet. After a few days of logging my diary, I am starting to learn what I can eat, what I can't eat and getting some balance. However, my total allowable daily fat content is confusing me. It says that I am allowed 67g of Fat in my diet. However, it red flags anything that I add that allows polyunsaturated fat and monounsaturated fat and does not red flag saturated fat? From my mobile, it actually shows goal is 0g. Why is that? I thought these were supposedly good fats, better than saturated fats. That would mean that I am not allowed to include avocado or nuts in my diet. Please help.

Replies

• hill8570
    hill8570 Posts: 1,466 Member
    Options
    You can use the website to set goals for the various sorts of fats. IHMO, I'd just ignore them -- unless you have a medical necessity to watch certain types of fats, just worry about the basic carb / protein / fat macros. Or, better yet, just worry about meeting your calories goal with your normal food, and worry about the macros in a few months when you get the hang of just meeting the calorie intake.
  • 1992fx3
    1992fx3 Posts: 35 Member
    Options
    I believe it's becuase there's no RDA for poly and mono fats, so MFP sets the goal at zero, which results in a negative number when you eat those fats, which in turn implies you've gone over your limit. Some research I've previously done on MFP indicates you should ignore those particular negative numbers as poly and mono fats are generally considred good for you. I just concentrate on staying within my overall fat intake goal, if I get some poly and mono fats in there, it's a bonus.
  • extra_medium
    extra_medium Posts: 1,525 Member
    Options