Beginner lifter

Options
marygoya91
marygoya91 Posts: 22 Member
edited August 2015 in Food and Nutrition
Hi guys,
I recently started lifting about 2 weeks and half ago. Anyways, I've been doing different exercises but I've noticed that I can't lift very heavy! For example, I can only do 40lb on the lat machine. Also, when I reach the third set of a dumbbell curl, I can barely bring it back up and it's only 5 pounds! Overall, I've noticed I have very poor upper body strength. Does this happen to every one who's a beginner lifter?

I've also done some squats, but the highest I have done is with the iron grip barbell that's 30 pounds and the deadlift with 40 lbs. I think I can say I have a bit more strength in my lower body than upper. However, due to a condition, I was recommended to lower my weights to 20 pounds when performing any type of squat or deadlift. I know it's better to probably do this because I'm afraid my condition may get worse and I'll not be able to lift for several months. So I'm sticking to lighter weights but doing more reps. Can anyone tell me if I'll still see progress?

I'm worried that not lifting heavy and just doing more reps but lighter will just be a waste of time and will be discouraging to not to see results. Thanks, I appreciate all responses.

Btw:
I'm 5'5 and 112 pounds.

Replies

• socioseguro
    socioseguro Posts: 1,679 Member
    Options
    HI:
    We were all beginners at some point in our lives. Like all new endeavours, take some time to make progress. I congratulate you for your decision to start lifting weights. It has been very helpful to me, in my healthy journey.
    It takes a while, though, How long ? It depends on each individual body. You have to eat healthy food (food is fuel for your body), rest appropriately, sleep well, drink water, etc.
    By the way, why have you posted at the MFP "Food and Nutrition" board ?. I suggest your query belongs to the "Fitness" MFP board
    Good luck in your healthy journey