How to lose body fat, not weight!

Options
For the past month I've been eating 1,500 per day to lose weight. I'm now at 120-121lbs and happy. Though I still have a lot of fat around my middle/legs to lose. According to my scales my BF% is 24/24%, ideally I'd like it to be 18-20%. I've swapped long cardio sessions for HIIT workouts and weight training. But clueless when it comes to how many calories I should eat. Should I eat at maintenance? Or should I eat just below that? Help!

Replies

• AsISmile
    AsISmile Posts: 1,004 Member
    Options
    Look at the body recomposition thread.
    That should answer most of your questions.
  • Pinnacle_IAO
    Pinnacle_IAO Posts: 608 Member
    Options
    AsISmile wrote: »
    Look at the body recomposition thread.
    That should answer most of your questions.
    YEP
    or just google "body recomposition"

I have been maintaining for 3 years with HIIT, timed meals, Intermittent Fasting and Calorie Cycling.
    Before I began body recomp, I had lost around 100 pounds, and when I reached my weight goal, I had 25% body fat.
    That's when I started body recomp.

Today after 3 years, I am at 15%.
    It's a slow process, so be patient.

Good Luck!
  • erickirb
    erickirb Posts: 12,293 Member
    Options
    I would say eat between maintenance and a weekly goal of 0.5lbs/week.

You mentioned cardio, but are you doing any lifting? Lifting will be key in losing BF% without losing much weight. I suggest starting strength, strong lifts, strong curves, or new rules of lifting. Cardio is optional, only do it if you like it, or are training for an event.
  • katiejanecollins
    katiejanecollins Posts: 236 Member
    Options
    Thanks all, I'll take a look! :)
  • kdiamond
    kdiamond Posts: 3,329 Member
    Options