Is a personal trainer essential?

Options
When it comes to strength training, I am a novice at best. I joined a gym, (Anytime Fitness) where the membership is paid as a part of my benefit package, and I had a free fitness evaluation with a personal trainer. I then had the sales pitch for personal training sessions. It is a year commitment and I am not sure where I can find the money in my budget for the fees.

Replies

• Ready2Rock206
    Ready2Rock206 Posts: 9,488 Member
    Options
    Not essential - especially if you can't afford it. I think it is nice to have - but there's so much information out there in books, online, on this website certainly you can find what you need to get a good program going at the gym.
  • missprecocious
    missprecocious Posts: 9 Member
    Options
    Definitely not needed. There are so many YouTube videos about training, and great Pinterest workouts.
  • jemhh
    jemhh Posts: 14,261 Member
    Options
    I don't believe it is essential for everybody.

Last summer, when I first started lifting weights, I bought a package that gave me 3 sessions with a trainer. I just wanted to learn proper form and get on a lifting program and that's exactly what I got. That was extremely helpful. Any more sessions than that would have been a waste for me.

Can you buy just a few personal training sessions from the gym? If not, can you get a few sessions elsewhere (or at your gym with an outside trainer--is that bad gym etiquette? I have no idea. Hopefully somebody will chime in...) so that you learn proper form?
  • levitateme
    levitateme Posts: 999 Member
    Options
    When I started lifting I asked a trainer at my gym to help with deadlift and squat form. They didn't know the answers. I find commercial gym trainers to really not know very much. I learned from youtube form videos and reading up on routines online.
  • ultrahoon
    ultrahoon Posts: 467 Member
    Options