Zumba

Options
Hi All,

I did my first Zumba class on Wednesday and loved it so much
I am going again tonight but wondered how to log the calories

I have been putting it down as dancing general or is it more areobic?

What are your thoughts lovely MFP peeps :))

Replies

• ChantalGG
    ChantalGG Posts: 2,404 Member
    Options
    I put it in as Dancing, aerobic, ballet or modern. it is a great workout because it is such fun. :)
  • mamaturner
    mamaturner Posts: 2,533 Member
    Options
    WEPA!

I use my HRM- it's really the best way to get an accurate reading for zumba- how many calories you burn REALLY depends on the instructor/routine/energy.

Good luck!!
  • kerriBB37
    kerriBB37 Posts: 967 Member
    Options
    I always wear my heart rate monitor and for a good hour class I burn between 450 and 550 calories!
  • mb2273
    mb2273 Posts: 3 Member
    Options
    Zumba is so much fun! I put it as "Dancing, aerobic, ballet or modern" as well. :-)
  • alexa_image
    alexa_image Posts: 387 Member
    Options
    I googled the first time "how many calories burned doing Zumba"
    and it will ask you for how long.
    After you add your ZUMBA workout to MFP the first time, it will keep it saved
    And when you come back the next time you just change the amoutn of minutes and it will recalculate
  • Thelma2011
    Options
    Hi I have put mine down as Zumba as it shows the extra calories burnt for the time you are doing it. I have been going to 1 class a week & the rest of the week I have been doing an hour at home. Since October I have now lost 1 stone. 6 inches off my bust, 3 inches from my waist & 4inches off my hips. There are loads of great zumba routines on youtube. Enjoy it does work.
  • LovelySpirit
    Options