is 1600 to lose 1 lb a week too much?

Options
I am a 5 7 female and I weigh 171, im a dialysis tech so im on my feet for 12 hours 4 days a week with patients and then maybe a 4 or 5 extra hours for a different shift so I put my activity at lightly active. Im not good at this and 1600 just seems so high to me for a calorie intake. And on my off days I have 1460 at sedentary. Does this seem right to you? Im tryin to lose 20 lbs at least.

Replies

• IsaackGMOON
    IsaackGMOON Posts: 3,358 Member
    Options
    You could go to 0.5lb loss per week if you find 1600 too restricting... other than that I think it's fine.
  • moneth1331
    moneth1331 Posts: 5 Member
    Options
    Oh I dont feel its too restricting at all I feel like 1600 is a lot because I dont usually eat that many calories but my weight also doesnt ever budge
  • IsaackGMOON
    Options
    moneth1331 wrote: »
    Oh I dont feel its too restricting at all I feel like 1600 is a lot because I dont usually eat that many calories but my weight also doesnt ever budge

That doesn't make any sense.

If you're meant to eat at 1600 calories to lose 1lb per week, and you're saying you've eaten less and haven't lost weight... that doesn't work. You probably didn't accurately log your intake of an average day...
  • Liftng4Lis
    Liftng4Lis Posts: 15,150 Member
    Options

Look to your logging, because if you were truly eating this, the weight would be coming off.
    If you're wearing an activity tracker, you should have your activity level set to sedentary and enable negative calorie adjustments.
  • moneth1331
    Options
    Well I just started and signed up with this today so my tracking litterally just started today. Ill wait and see what happens after tracking this week
  • Liftng4Lis
    Liftng4Lis Posts: 15,150 Member
    Options
    Well I just started and signed up with this today so my tracking litterally just started today. Ill wait and see what happens after tracking this week