Scale/ accountability

Options
2»

Replies

• MissJay75
    MissJay75 Posts: 768 Member
    Options
    MissJay75 wrote: »
    Once a day. I know which weight is water weight and which is fat. I allow any water weight fluctuation, but if I gain a pound of fat, I'll eat at a deficit until it's gone.

How do you know the difference between water weight and actual gain

I know in part because I have been logging for 18 months. I am very diligent to log as accurately as possible. The calories I need for my TDEE are spot on with what MFP tells me they should be. When I was set to lose 1 pound a week, average over time I did. So I know the other fluctuations are water. When I set it to 1/2 a pound a week, and added 250 calories more per day, I lost average over time 1/2 a pound a week. And when I hit maintenance and added another 250 calories back per day, I have maintained on average over time exactly.

If I go over on my calories, I keep a tally. If I go over by 3500 calories, the scale will show 1 pound gain. So I eat at a deficit until I've made up those 3500 calories, and over time the scale goes back down.

When the scale changes quickly, I know it's water. When the scale changes and the number's I've eaten haven't, I know it's water. And I have a long track record to back it up, which gives me confidence in the numbers.

I hope that makes sense.

• desiresdestiny
    desiresdestiny Posts: 175 Member
    Options
    Once a day. I know which weight is water weight and which is fat. I allow any water weight fluctuation, but if I gain a pound of fat, I'll eat at a deficit until it's gone.