Should I eat my exercise calories or not? Confused!!

Options
Hi all,

I'm new to all this.. well I keep reading that if you exercise and burn say 500 calories..you should eat 500 calories worth of food.. well then I see people eatting their calorie goal but they don't eat what they burned off..

so now I don't which way to go...

I was talking to my fiancee yesterday and I told him I was doing this..and told him how you gotta eat your exercise calories he's like then whats the point of exercising lol

Replies

• Kat0310
    Kat0310 Posts: 341
    Options
    I don't eat my exercise calories. But I usually only burn about 300/day.
  • thefishers4
    thefishers4 Posts: 165 Member
    Options
    I used to but now I don't. The only time I would, would be if I was say exercise and burned 500 calories I would only eat to keep me at 1200. My calories are 1,530 a day but I think if you don't stay above at least 1,200 calories a day you send your body into stravation mode.
  • baddkitty187
    baddkitty187 Posts: 62 Member
    Options
    Personally I do not eat them back I changed my diet in feb and started the gym in march nd I have lost over 70lbs, just one individual though
  • baddkitty187
    baddkitty187 Posts: 62 Member
    Options
    I used to but now I don't. The only time I would, would be if I was say exercise and burned 500 calories I would only eat to keep me at 1200. My calories are 1,530 a day but I think if you don't stay above at least 1,200 calories a day you send your body into stravation mode.

<3 yes yes yes
  • AZKristi
    AZKristi Posts: 1,801 Member
    Options
    When you set your weight loss goal, MFP automatically calculate the number of calories you can eat per day and loose the desired amount of weight without exercising.