Do you believe your fitbit calorie burn?

Options
12346»

Replies

• Christine_72
    Christine_72 Posts: 16,049 Member
    Options
    rainbowbow wrote: »
    Whats the point in purchasing a fitbit if you're assuming its going to be innacurate? I would eat them back, experiment, and see what happens!

For me, it was useless because it was within 20 calories of every single TDEE calculator out there. I am burning on a daily basis exactly what i thought i was (and basing a deficit off of).

It can be helpful if you want to be more active, but, meh. For me it was accurate and just confirmed what i knew already.

Because I was sceptical of the 800+ calorie burn it gave me 20,200 steps. I've never used one of these devices before and was interested in hearing other peoples experiences :smile:
    yes, I did read the interweb reviews which were all positive, but I take those with a grain of salt. ...
  • marissafit06
    marissafit06 Posts: 1,996 Member
    Options
    Mine helps me to see how active I am. I walk a lot and go to the gym (100k steps a week) and I never counted the walking as exercise. So now I'm eating more and happier with that.
  • Sued0nim
    Sued0nim Posts: 17,456 Member
    Options
    Rabbit judging by your pic it's obviously working for you :+1::)

Thank you @christinev297
    maidentl wrote: »
    ncboiler89 wrote: »
    Mr_Knight wrote: »
    The step counts are reasonably accurate - the calorie burn estimates....not so much. Since these are walking calories, I would suggest eating back no more than 25% to start with.

I found mine to be very accurate so far. I crunched the numbers after a month and was off by a few hundred calories.

Correct me if I'm wrong but doesn't the Fitbit award calories based on our speed? I'd think it would not give the same amount for a leisurely stroll as power walking.