Tedious Question

Options
Hi every one :)

I'm new to the maintenance side of MFP so I apologize in advance if this question has been asked a hundred times before.

I have around 10 or so pounds left to lose until I'm going to consider entering the maintaining phase (I'm finally nearly there!). I'm currently on 1500 calories per day and losing around 0.5 to 1lb per week.

My question is, as I'm not 100% certain of my maintenance calories - would you suggest upping my calories by 100 per week until I stop losing? I weigh in every Friday morning so if I up it to 1600 for the first week and check if I am still losing the next time I weigh in, If I'm still losing, I'll up to 1700 for the following week, If I'm still losing I'll up to 1800 .. etc etc.

Does this sound like a good way to find out my 'number'? I just want to be prepared for when I enter the next stage. I like knowing what I'm doing :)

Thanks (and again, I'm sorry if this has been asked a ridiculous amount!)

Replies

• DancingMoosie
    DancingMoosie Posts: 8,613 Member
    edited September 2015
    Options
    You could do a calculation of your estimated calorie amount for your goal weight and eat that much until you get there. Tweak calorie goal as necessary once you reach your weight goal...it should hopefully be close to what you calculated:)
  • PinkPixiexox
    PinkPixiexox Posts: 4,142 Member
    Options
    The calorie calculators give me different answers. I tweaked to get to 1500 and losing 0.5-1lb, so I would assume my TDEE is around 1800 or so. The trouble is, I have some calculators giving me around 1700, others given me around 2100. No there isn't much difference between the numbers but I wouldn't like to gain because I hadn't worked it out correctly before hand hence why I mentioned gradually increasing each week by 100 and checking that way. Would this be okay to do?
  • WinoGelato
    WinoGelato Posts: 13,454 Member
    Options