Looking for UK geeky types

Options
hawkida
hawkida Posts: 2 Member
Hi. I'm hoping to find some friends around these parts who share some of my interests. So, what are those interests? Well, they mostly fall into the geeky category.

I used to go to a lot of science fiction conventions (not the media kind, more the literary kind) but lately that activity has been mostly displaced by doing live action roleplay. I'm a web developer based in London so I'm reasonably well up on social media, web trends and website coding. I like being creative, be it fimo sculpting, writing or painting up Nerf guns - but I'm more likely to start a new project than see one through to the end, unfortunately. I used to read an awful lot, but these days I mostly dip into online content rather than books. Consequently I'm unable to discuss recent literature, but I get quite pedantic and snobbish about good communication skills - whole sentences, no text speak, not using "LOL!" repeatedly. I listen to Radio 4 and podcasts that tend to fall into tech and science categories.

Any takers for friendship based on that little lot?

Replies

• michelleion
    michelleion Posts: 122 Member
    Options
    I'm a website designer/front end dev from Bournemouth and I work in an office with 2 devs, so obviously know my way around a website. I'm not a major geek, but I do have an inbuilt geekiness in me - more along the lines of video game addict rather than sci-fi nerd, and do get quite snobbish about grammar too ;)
  • seymoor
    seymoor Posts: 2
    Options
    Hey, I live in UK too. I am not sure I can call myself a geeky type, but I am definitely a type who prefers to write using whole sentences and not using LOLs. I listen to the Radio 4 too, but mostly about culture, art or history.
  • SarahLovesCheesecake
    Options
    The web design and no text speak is my geek...Im adding you lol
  • ValerieSW
    ValerieSW Posts: 32
    Options
    Hi!