Eating Back Exercise Calories? I burned 842 calories in 30 minutes?

Options
Hey everyone. I'm just starting out with MFP. I have heard some different opinions about whether or not to eat back the calories you burn with exercise, and I wanted to get some opinions/advice from those who have more experience - especially if you are/were around my starting weight!

I am currently 358 lbs. The MFP Goal Calculator allows me 1,950 calories per day, and this number was set for a goal of losing 2 lbs/week and 80 minutes of cardio per week (although I plan to average 30 minutes per day 6 days a week). The past two days my cardio activity has been using a stationary bike for 15 minutes at a time twice a day. My cardiologist recommended starting out with the stationary bike to lessen the risk of injury to joints, etc.

I've read that MFP can overestimate how many calories a person burns during exercise, so I have been very conservative about the way I record my exercise. Even though I recorded 30 minutes of activity, it was really 35 minutes, and although I was consistently at a 20mph pace, I recorded the activity at a 14-16mph pace. Now, I know I will burn calories at a much higher rate now at 358 lbs than I will when I am 250, 200, etc...but MFP says that I burned 842 calories today. Does that seem high to anyone else?

I am thinking that as well as being conservative with my time and distance when recording exercise, I am thinking it would also be a good idea to only eat back half of my exercise calories and see how that goes. Does anyone else do this, or have a different strategy? I'd love to hear your opinions. I would be happy with a 2lb/week loss, but I don't want to sabotage that with the way I handle exercise calories.

Replies

• Machka9
    Machka9 Posts: 25,038 Member
    Options