Help with squats

Options
hi guys and girls

I'm a gym newbie 7months in, still learning the ropes and have been trying to get good technique for squats. the only way I can do this is by spreading my Legs as wide as a sumo wrestler, to be able to squat without bending over to get closer to the ground. I think it has to do with the flexibility in my ancles and hips and wondered if there was anything I should be doing to improve on this as very keen to be able to perform the excesise correctly to avoid injury, have tried using a raised heel which helps slightly but still isn't great, if you guys could suggest anything please do let me know

Replies

• IsaackGMOON
    IsaackGMOON Posts: 3,358 Member
    Options
    Post a form video.

• DopeItUp
    DopeItUp Posts: 18,771 Member
    Options
    Nobody squats totally upright, you will have to bend at least somewhat as you go down. Depending on your leverages and your bar position it can even be an extreme bend. It's normal and expected.

But as mentioned above, post videos.
  • JoshAylward
    JoshAylward Posts: 11 Member
    Options
    Post a form video.
    DopeItUp wrote: »
    Nobody squats totally upright, you will have to bend at least somewhat as you go down. Depending on your leverages and your bar position it can even be an extreme bend. It's normal and expected.

But as mentioned above, post videos.

Thanks guys next time I'm in the gym I'll video record it
  • piperdown44
    piperdown44 Posts: 958 Member
    Options
    Definitely need a vid.
    I will point out that there are different squat forms, some to do with how comfortable it is, some from body mechanics and some from mobility.
    Some squat shoulder width, some with wide stance (like Westside training). If you look at most, not all, PL they squat wide.
    Then there's high bar and low bar squatting…….

So the above ^^^^ is why we need a vid.
  • dlm7507
    dlm7507 Posts: 237 Member
    Options