How to choose your lifestyle setting?

Options
So I have recently been reading a lot of different articles on weight loss and my question is how do you know of you are sedentary or lightly active because me, personally I an a nanny to a school aged kid so i get him up and all that stuff but once he leaves i usually am just watching tv and laying around. But, i also do Insanity 6 days a week and jogg 3miles everyday too (thats all the active i do in a day for the most part). I am just trying to figure it out because i want to continue to lose weight

Replies

• PinkPixiexox
    PinkPixiexox Posts: 4,142 Member
    Options
    I'd say you're very active (in my opinion) if you jog 3 miles a day and do Insanity 6 days a week.
  • nordlead2005
    nordlead2005 Posts: 1,303 Member
    Options
    Pick whatever seems best to you and then track your results and adjust as needed. Lifestyle shouldn't include exercise you would log.

So, I'm a 8-5 software engineer. Sometimes I work in the lab and walk around, but most days I sit at my desk. After work I typically go home, do some stuff and then watch TV. Not very active outside of exercise (lifting, ultimate frisbee, and walking outside) So, I picked sedentary and logged my exercise. I lost ~0.3lb/week more than planned over a 6-week period, so I upped my lifestyle to lightly active and I am now losing at my planned rate and enjoying more food.

If you have a small deficit (i.e. 0.5lb/week), then choose sedentary and see how it goes. Otherwise, pick either and see how it goes. The worst that happens is you lose weight, but not at the planned rate.
  • Machka9
    Machka9 Posts: 25,128 Member
    Options
    ChrissyM93 wrote: »