ORANGE THEORY FITNESS....Gaining Weight??

I love OTF too, but I have GAINED weight!!! I have been doing it since May 2014. I average 4x/week, and typically don't do much working out on my days off because I NEED the rest! I sometimes do consecutive days, but it's really hard and I feel unproductive. I am continuing to eat like I did before OTF workouts, which is around 1200-1300 calories/day of VERY healthy food (gluten-free, raw foods, lean proteins, lots of nuts and yogurt). Before OTF, I was doing hour-long cardio workouts on the elliptical/treadmill 5/6 days a week. I wasn't burning near the amount of calories that I do with OTF. In comparison, I would burn around 300 calories...so for the week I would burn around 1500-1800. With OTF, I burn an average of 500 each time, which with four classes would be 2000. Sooooo....how am I GAINING??? Help PLEASE!?!?!?!?!?

Replies

• Cherimoose
    Cherimoose Posts: 5,208 Member
    You never told us how much you gained. Anyway, try weighing your food, especially the rich foods like nuts. You might be underestimating your intake.
  • WalkingAlong
    WalkingAlong Posts: 4,926 Member
    Also, what is your BMI? If it's low, losing weight while doing a lot of exercising is going to be a struggle, I think. I'm not much for starvation mode but I think adaptive thermogenesis does happen and it seems like those would be the ideal conditions-- not much body fat, 1200 calorie intake and a lot of physical demands.
  • kdiamond
    kdiamond Posts: 3,329 Member
    I do OT a couple times a week, that's all I could manage. It's a tough workout, and i eat more on the days I do it. I don't thin you're eating enough (if your calories are accurately tracked, weighed and measured) and I think you may be overtraining.

I'd cut back and do 3x a week at OT, and eat more on those days.
  • _Terrapin_
    _Terrapin_ Posts: 4,301 Member
    OP: Read this link:

triathlete gains 15 pounds- - - -> http://www.exrx.net/Questions/StarvationEffect.html