Gluten Free?

Options
Any gluten free eaters out there? I'm new to this and I was hoping for some pointers. General info, advice….whatever you got will be appreciated. Thanks.

Replies

• jlcrose
    jlcrose Posts: 22
    Options
    I eat gluten free because I have celiac disease. It was really hard to start because I was buying all the pre-packaged gluten free stuff off the shelf. Not only is that expensive, but a lot of it doesn't taste very good either. What I've learned to do is use as much fresh food as possible and cook as often as I can, lots of veggies and lean meats. Also white rice is gluten free, that's what I use as my carbs, sparingly. The biggest thing is reading EVERY label - even things like your peanut butter and ketchup - gluten hides everywhere, even in preservatives! Google was my friend for a long time.
  • nomatterwhat18
    Options
    I am gluten intolerant as well, I do the same thing by eating a lot of fresh dark green vegetables and sweet potatoes as complex carbohydrates. So good for you! My favorite gluten free meals for on the go are Amy's Organic gluten free frozen meals. Also, so many restaurants in Austin, Tx where I'm from, have gluten free menus with awesome options.
  • brendaleentjes
    brendaleentjes Posts: 43 Member
    Options
    I have a sensitivity to gluten so I avoid it as much as possible. Some of the things I eat now and enjoy that are gluten free is udi's whole grain bread, Erewhon rice cereal and king arthur flour mixes--their cookie mix and pizza dough are excellent. I also stay away from processed foods and eat a lot of fruits and veggies.
  • kumarprabhat
    kumarprabhat Posts: 116
    Options
    Are there any informative details about "Gluten-free" eating I can read and udnerstand it better?
  • cherryvee
    cherryvee Posts: 16
    Options