Getting through to a football player????

Options
mtkautz
mtkautz Posts: 218 Member
So... any ideas on how to get my brother actually interested in what I'm trying to tell him about gaining muscle? He won't listen (AT ALL) about how what you eat plays a huge part... yet he wants to get much bigger for football? He's going to end up losing weight in the long run.

I FINALLY got him to take a protein shake with him for after practice this morning... his response "It doesn't make me feel any different so why should I keep doing it?"

This kid, 15 years old, 6 foot and 147 pounds wants to put on some serious muscle for football season but won't listen to me(his sister) even though I've had a lot of experience working out with personal trainers and body builders. I'm also a nurse, I know what I'm talking about... I just don't know how to get him interested before he damages his body.

He barely eats, when he does eat... it's junk. Chocolate muffins, chips, pop... The healhiest meal he gets is dinner and that's because it is cooked for him, but he doesn't eat much for his size... let alone to allow for a weight gain. I mean I don't even remember the last time I saw him drink water.... I think it was at a track meet!

There is no way he is getting enough protein, I just would like some advice on how to get him interested? He loves going to practice and weight lifting-- mandatory for the football players in his high school, but apparently the coaches don't get into the nutrition side of gaining muscle mass?

HELP!!! PLEASE!! :)

Replies

• hroush
    hroush Posts: 2,073 Member
    Options
    Obviously you can't do this for him. The only thing I would suggest is telling him to visit a bodybuilding website, I really like www.stronglifts.com partly because they include a diet along with the exercise program. Maybe if he sees how these other guys are building muscle, maybe he'd become interested in following it as well.