Running - How do you tell if the shoes are right or wrong?

Options
izu87
izu87 Posts: 267 Member
Hello! I'm relatively new to running. I do it as my cardio after my weight lifting workouts. I run for roughly 20-30 minutes, at an average speed 10km/hr; I'm running with my Asics Gel Hawk 5 shoes. And honestly, I don't think they are problematic for me. I don't get any troubles with my legs while running, but still... I might simply not be feeling it.

There is finally a store that does running shoes fitting, but it's a 'With every pairs, you get a fitting if you buy them'. (Seriously stupid - no buying, no fitting). And their shoes are quite pricey for my country. So, I'm tempted to go get fitted, but this means buying an expensive pair of shoes.

So I'm wondering if it's worth it. How do you tell if a pair of shoes are right or wrong?

Replies

• tiptoethruthetulips
    tiptoethruthetulips Posts: 3,363 Member
    Options
    If you are aren't feeling any aches or pains I would say your shoes are absolutely fine.

This may help: http://www.runnersworld.com/running-shoes/how-to-buy-the-right-running-shoes - probably lots more info out there.
  • izu87
    Options
    Thanks!

Sometimes I feel pain. But it's quite rare - my calf would lock up, or my bad ankle would hurt. But usually I give it to a bad stretch/warm up or to overworking these muscles during the weight training.
  • kimjacques2
    kimjacques2 Posts: 42 Member
    Options
    Are there no other sports shops who will do a free gait analysis? I know we're all in different parts of the world but here in the UK there are quite a few places!
  • ExRelaySprinter
    ExRelaySprinter Posts: 874 Member
    Options
    If you are aren't feeling any aches or pains I would say your shoes are absolutely fine.

This may help: http://www.runnersworld.com/running-shoes/how-to-buy-the-right-running-shoes - probably lots more info out there.

Great link,...thanks! :)
  • BrianSharpe
    BrianSharpe Posts: 9,248 Member