Anyone do 30 day squat challange?

Options
Do you have pics of results. Interested in trying but not sure it is a good idea to do the same exercise consecutive days in a row without rest.

Replies

• yusaku02
    yusaku02 Posts: 3,472 Member
    Options
    bodyweight squats are not strenuous enough to require rest days. If you were doing weighted squats then you should rest at least a day between sessions but you're fine doing a squat challenge 30 days or 300 days in a row.
  • fattgrlneeds2bthin
    fattgrlneeds2bthin Posts: 32 Member
    Options
    yusaku02 wrote: »
    bodyweight squats are not strenuous enough to require rest days. If you were doing weighted squats then you should rest at least a day between sessions but you're fine doing a squat challenge 30 days or 300 days in a row.

• fattgrlneeds2bthin
    Options
    Than you I just didn't want to hinder progress, I am very out of shape complete beginner so I thought I would start with body weight exercises first then trainer to help ensure proper form.
  • scottwilson16
    scottwilson16 Posts: 71 Member
    Options
    You do need a complete rest day in there per week I would say but depends on what you are looking to achieve. I squat 2 days running, then reverse lunges, then repeat and then a days rest, So training 6 days a week. You want something to grow? It needs MPS stimulated. So instead of throwing a whole sessions volume (21 sets as an eg) into legs. Do the same over 3 days. Can't find the link to recent research on this, will drop it here if I find t.
  • nordlead2005
    nordlead2005 Posts: 1,303 Member
    Options
    Than you I just didn't want to hinder progress, I am very out of shape complete beginner so I thought I would start with body weight exercises first then trainer to help ensure proper form.