Skin super bad after weight loss, anyone else?

Options
I've lost 10lbs in the last month and since then my skin has been terrible...I haven't had acne this bad since high school, and I graduated 10 years ago! Could this be a side effect of losing weight? I have PCOS, not sure if it's anything to do with that. It's really depressing me though, I'm using tons of acne products and nothing seems to help :(((

Replies

• The_Invisible_Boy
    The_Invisible_Boy Posts: 568 Member
    Options
    If you have changed your diet drastically it could affect it. Especially if you were eating a lot of crap food and are now eating much cleaner. It could be your body expelling toxins.
  • Psychgrrl
    Psychgrrl Posts: 3,177 Member
    Options
    From what I understand, acne is tied to pcos--hormonal wackiness. Can you talk to your doctor?

For adult acne, I make sure I don't dry out my skin. And I like products with sulfur. More targeted. I like Kate Sommerville's EradiKate.
  • macgurlnet
    macgurlnet Posts: 1,946 Member
    Options
    My skin got pretty bad as I lost weight - I don't have PCOS, but acne can be triggered by hormones. It's not much of a stretch to figure losing weight throws hormones out of wack and could be contributing.

I stopped losing 3-4 months ago and my skin is finally getting back to its normal self now.

Don't use a zillion products - that may actually make your skin worse. Drink plenty of water and stick to your usual routine for now. And as @Psychgrrl recommended, talk to your doctor.

~Lyssa
  • michelle7673
    michelle7673 Posts: 370 Member
    Options