Seeking advice for my first 10k

corsayre8
corsayre8 Posts: 551 Member
edited September 28 in Fitness and Exercise
I've been running for several months now, and am signed up for my first race next weekend. Usually run five to six miles four days a week, with a longer run of between eight and nine miles in the weekend. So not really concerned about the distance, but other aspects of preparation have me worried.

Mostly eating. Most of my runs are first thing in the am, on an empty stomach. For race day I will have been up for several hours, and will probably need some food to keep me going. Suggestions on "light" foods that won't sit heavy in the stomach, but provide sustained energy?

Also how much should I rest before? One day? Two? Not rest, but maybe lighter runs?

I realized that different approaches work for different bodies, but was hoping to hear about other people's experiences.

Thanks!

Replies

• Athena413
    Athena413 Posts: 1,709 Member
    I'm not the most experienced runner ever, but I hang out with a lot of people who are. Most people that I know that race on Saturday, will not run on Friday to allow their bodies to rest. Also, Friday evening they will have a dinner with a decent amount of carbs...such as pasta. Then on race day, you definitely don't want to run on an empty stomach if it's later in the day, so I would suggest lots of water, a banana, and something with some protein in it, but be sure you allow yourself at least an hour to digest whatever you eat.
  • Arizona_JR
    Arizona_JR Posts: 275
    Half a bagel with peanut butter works for me for a 10K prerace meal. Drink some water before you head out.
    Two days before race, make it an easy run, then a day off the day before.
    Get there AT LEAST 30 minutes early. The port-a-potty lines get long, and if this is your first race, you'll have a nervous belly most likely.
    Run an easy 10 minute warm-up.