Trying to stay healthy with fybromyalgia. Advice?

Options
Hello everyone!

I'm new to this whole thing. I never had problems staying healthy in the past, but I recently became ill with fybromyalgia. It is very restricting. I am looking for support and and any tips on fighting through chronic pain and maintaining a healthy lifestyle.

Thanks all.

Replies

• Derf_Smeggle
    Derf_Smeggle Posts: 610 Member
    edited October 2015
    Options
    Two of the simplest things I've seen in treating patients with fibromyalgia at my acupuncture clinic is that folks with fibromyalgia who pay attention to their eating habits and get some very gentle exercise feel better.

If you stack bloated, gas-y discomfort from eating poorly on top of the fibromyalgia, I see it cause more distress, and stress related fatigue. I'm a huge fan of promoting eating more vegetables and more variety of vegetables for the fiber, vitamins, and minerals. I do think the limiting (not eliminate, just limit) the amount of processed grains (cereal, noodles, bread) and dairy (cheese, milk, yogurt, ice cream, etc) is helpful for some patients. I do see patients begin to feel better longer as they shift their calorie intake over to more fresh produce and meat with some fat in it.

The other thing is that people with fibro have to move and get the blood circulating. It is a feedback loop when fibro-folks are inactive because of the pain, which leads to more pain, which leads to less activity. This means go for a 20 minute walk. Get up and do some simple calisthenics and stretching for 4 or 5 minutes four to five times a day. Start slow. Build into it slower.

I do see patients respond extremely well to acupuncture treatments. This is often what helps them over the hump, so to speak, of getting started with some life-style changes.
  • mousie1973
    mousie1973 Posts: 438 Member
    Options