Going Out For Breakdast (VEGAN)

VeggieMelissa
VeggieMelissa Posts: 28 Member
edited November 2024 in Food and Nutrition
Vegan friends! How do you usually order breakfast at a restaurant (that does not cater to vegetarians, let alone vegans)
Aside from a fruit bowl, what the heck do you guys order!? Going out to eat for lunch and dinner is never a problem but with breakfast I just want to have more options!!!!!

Replies

  • RuNaRoUnDaFiEld
    RuNaRoUnDaFiEld Posts: 5,864 Member
    Most places stock cereals that would be vegan, you could also ask about the bread for toast. More and more brands are removing milk powder from them.
    Ask them to fry you up a huge plate of mushrooms, beans and tomatoes. I'm sure they would accommodate you if you ask them.
  • RodaRose
    RodaRose Posts: 9,562 Member
    Grits or oatmeal.
  • eugenia94102
    eugenia94102 Posts: 126 Member
    Fresh fruit platter. I've been known to order the vegetable omelet with no eggs...
  • janejellyroll
    janejellyroll Posts: 25,763 Member
    Fruit, oatmeal, toast, potatoes with vegetables. A place near my house offers a good tofu/quinoa scramble plate, but that's certainly not something you see everywhere.
  • Need2Exerc1se
    Need2Exerc1se Posts: 13,575 Member
    I wouldn't order oatmeal without asking if it contains milk because it usually will. Grits, too. And grits will usually be served with a pat of butter melting on top so be sure to specify no butter if you can find them wihtout milk.
  • janejellyroll
    janejellyroll Posts: 25,763 Member
    I wouldn't order oatmeal without asking if it contains milk because it usually will. Grits, too. And grits will usually be served with a pat of butter melting on top so be sure to specify no butter if you can find them wihtout milk.

    I'm not sure where you're ordering it, but the past few times I've ordered oatmeal, it's been just cooked oats with toppings served on the side. That said, most vegans always ask before ordering things for the first time, I imagine -- it's not uncommon for dairy garnishes, for example, to be served on an item even when it isn't listed explicitly on the menu.
  • VeggieMelissa
    VeggieMelissa Posts: 28 Member
    Thank you to everyone for your responses! In my past experiences, I have asked about bread/bagels containing dairy and have got "I don't know" as a response. So unless it is a restauraunt that caters to vegetarians/vegans I try to avoid this.
    Oatmeal is a good one. It usually does come with milk, but asking for without would not be a problem. Just trying to search for some alternatives to a $10 fruit bowl that I can eat for 1/10th of the cost at home!
This discussion has been closed.