Need a Break?

Options
Hi Everyone!

I have been using MFP for about 4 1/2 months and have lost almost 25 pounds of my 50 pound goal. However, I am finding that the process of tracking all of my calories and exercise is starting to become a bit tedious. In fact, I feel like it's starting to dominate my life a little bit. I focus less on eating healthy or when I am hungry and focus more on the number of remaining calories I have for the day.

My question is: do you recommend taking a break from MFP when you feel that calorie counting starts to become an obsession? Is it okay to take a break and just listen to what my body is telling me in terms of what it needs to eat, when it needs to exercise, etc.? I don't want to get off track by taking too long of a break, but I wonder if a short one might benefit me by helping me to relax.

What do you think?

Replies

• TinaS88
    TinaS88 Posts: 817 Member
    Options
    Personally for me.. no.. because my body tells me not to exercise and eat ice cream all day... lol lol

I actually love the calorie counter and yes it does restrict me of what I "want" to eat.. but that is the purpose. If I find myself hungry I will try to eat something with the least calories possible toward the end of the day.

With loosing weight, you have to restrict calories (and make healthy food choices) and exercise otherwise it's just never going to happen.

JMO

DON'T QUIT!
  • Jenscan
    Jenscan Posts: 694 Member
    Options
    Congrats on the halfway point! I hear you on logging being really tedious but it's super helpful. Like today, it helped me figure out I could afford Sonic and some wine. :) There are good points to logging but man, I get SICK of entering stuff. I feel your pain.

What you do is up to you -- what is YOUR comfort level? Perhaps you could compromise and test logging just on weekdays? I don't really know an answer to this, to be honest.
  • chevy88grl
    chevy88grl Posts: 3,937 Member
    Options
    You know what?