Just curious, why does it automatically tell me 854 calories when I punch in 50 minutes on treadmill

Options
MSH2930
MSH2930 Posts: 161 Member
Sorry for the questions, I am new at this and am confused by a lot of it. When I type in my exercise for the day and I type in the treadmill and my minutes, say 50 minutes like I did today on the treadmill, it automatically pops up that I burned like 854 calories..??? Or yesterday when I did 40 minutes on the treadmill, it popped up like 798 calories..??? I type in my weight and age and all when I started initially, and if I am supposed to be burning that many calories in 40 or 50 minutes, something is amiss. I even doubted my activity because when I looked around online, even fit people doing the treadmill at say 7 MPH (basically jogging/running) for like 30 minutes only burned around 500 calories.

I do roughly 2.7 - 3.2 MPH (mostly hovering around 2.7 or 2.8) and I burn roughly 450 - 500 calories, nowhere near the 854 or even 794..! Seems like a lot to expect of anyone, let alone the weight I entered when I began (just a week ago).....

I don't know, is this site like geared for those training to be in Ms or Mr Olympia..? Because a lot of it does not make sense to me or seem possible..??

Replies

• robertw486
    robertw486 Posts: 2,388 Member
    Options
    Grossly high, and I have no idea where they come up with the numbers. For walking at slower to moderate speeds I think one of the more recently accepted formulas is Your weight X .3 X miles walked. That would give you approximate net calorie burn.
  • CoffeeNCardio
    CoffeeNCardio Posts: 1,847 Member
    Options
    No way, MFP works for anyone of any activity level.