Hypothyroidism....???

Options
Hi I'm Rachel,

I'm new to MFP and have hypothyroidism. I need to lose about 100 lbs and with my thyroid being out of whack my weight just seems to constantly go up and down. Anyone else have thyroid issues? What works for you for weight loss? What keeps you motivated?

Replies

• Bhlinebee
    Bhlinebee Posts: 71 Member
    edited December 2015
    Options
    I have hypo too, when I'm not medicated correctly I don't lose regardless of CICO when I am medicated correctly I drop according to the effort I put in. I've lost about 20 pounds this year; slow and steady wins the race and I'm ok with that. People on here can disagree with that being hypo doesn't matter, but every human is different. As you might be too, so take it with a grain of salt. :)

My motivation: my son. I want to run and play and see him grow.

I will say this, go into it as a long term plan not a diet. Change for your health and be mindful - I eat 1700 to 1800 cals a day, excercise is usually walking 10,000 steps or jogging 4 miles and I don't eat back calories (usually). Small changes made the payoff for me - I watch how many calories I drink, watch my sugar (pre diabetic), lots of fruit/veg alongside my smaller portion of lasagna (LOL)...

If you feel that following a certain diet will help you kick start, go for it but at the end of the day just track and be honest ( some find a scale helpful). What do you have to lose...
  • Pawsforme
    Pawsforme Posts: 645 Member
    Options
    Are you on medication? If so, and if it's well regulated, then your thyroid should be in normal range (not out of whack) and you should be able to lose like anyone else.
  • AnnPT77
    AnnPT77 Posts: 32,382 Member
    Options
    I'm hypo, well-medicated, and have lost 54 pounds since mid-April of this year. (I'm also *much* older than you, and menopausal, two other factors that some cite as bugaboos for weight loss.)