Back at it again

Options
Thanks for letting me into your community, I'm hoping to draw and give support. Weight loss is an ongoing battle for me since 2012 when I realized I was up to almost 500lbs. I walked and walked and walked, dropped regular soda, changed up my eating habits and I made it down to 420lbs. But I got stuck. So I started lifting weights and switched to a ketogenic lifestyle. The weight flew off, before I knew it I was down to 363! I felt better than I had in years, I was stronger than I'd ever been before (even started competing in Highland Games), and most importantly I was back to doing things with my family. And then, the holidays hit. I fell into the "you deserve a treat" trap and got completely derailed. Soon I was back up to 400. So I started back to the gym in 2014 and started back to keto. The weight came off and life was grand. Then the holidays hit again and I caved again (I mean really there is only so many times you can turn down pecan pie).

Start of this year (2015) I was back up to 420 and feeling like poop. I thought surely a Highland Games was all I needed to get motivated again. But spinning for the open stone (shot put) I landed on my knee wrong and that was the end of it. I kind of sank into a depression. I wasn't in the gym, I wasn't eating right, I was miserable.

Finally I decided enough was enough. This Thanksgiving, I ate a moderate plate of food and one small dessert. One meal only to prove to myself I could do it. After that I was amazed at how easy it was to turn down things I would normally turn to, like pizza (a whole large pie to myself) and ice cream. I still had some things but in moderation instead of indulgence.