Strong lift 5x5

Options
Has anyone used this program? I am a beginner but want to start lifting and I heard this was a good program. Any tips you can give would be great.

Replies

• Steve_PB
    Steve_PB Posts: 8 Member
    Options
    Great program for a beginner. No real tips just follow the program and add weight each time. When you get to a weight that starts to challenge you. Stay there until you can perform all lifts comfortably and with good form.
  • cwolfman13
    cwolfman13 Posts: 41,874 Member
    Options
    It's a good beginner program...just follow the program.
  • piperdown44
    piperdown44 Posts: 958 Member
    Options
    Great beginner program. Ran it when I got back into lifting after a long, long layoff from weights. Ran it for a couple of cycles. Every once in a while I'll run during the year just to see if I can make more gains on my squats.

Just follow the program as written.

The first couple weeks, if form is good, you'll be thinking "this is worthless, I'm not getting anything from this".
    Last couple weeks of the 12 week cycle you'll be thinking "damn, this is seriously hard.. I've got to do how much weight for squats today?! and 5 sets of 5?!!".
  • ew_david
    ew_david Posts: 3,473 Member
    Options
    That's where I started and I thought it was a good place to start. It just got hella boring after 6 months, so switched to a different program. It feels easy in the beginning, but that changes pretty quickly.
  • Sumiblue
    Sumiblue Posts: 1,597 Member
    Options
    It's a good beginner program, as stated above. It's simple, too and there is an app to track your progress. I've done it for more than a year & got great results. It does get boring after you've done it for a while. I'm about ready to move to an intermediate program.
  • Negative_X
    Negative_X Posts: 296 Member
    edited December 2015
    Options
    As many have said, it's a great program to get you going and build a solid foundation.