Gaining weight rapidly!!!

Options
Hi. I am new to nutrition. I am a 25 year old male, 5ft9 and weigh 130lbs atm. I have been sorting out my diet and nutrition and have started to notice that I am gaining weight very rapidly about 4 - 5lbs a day... Is that normal or is that an inconsistent estimate. I have not even started training at the gym yet.

I know of a lot skinny guys in particular that are trying to gain weight and have a hard time gaining 1 or 2lbs a week.

I am aiming 3280 calories a day at least which I am fulfilling.

Replies

• tiptoethruthetulips
    tiptoethruthetulips Posts: 3,365 Member
    Options
    How long have you been gaining rapidly? If its only a few days and you have only just started to increase your calories, it is likely that the gain is a fluid gain.
  • tomthompson55
    tomthompson55 Posts: 2 Member
    Options
    A fluid gain is just excess water build in the body right? Is it flushed out for example going to the bathroom? Usually whatever is left over is your official gains right?

Yes. I have have only just gotten a hand around my diet the past few weeks. I have noticed the weight gains have been huge and the weight usually stays around that lvl.
  • sjohnson__1
    sjohnson__1 Posts: 405 Member
    edited December 2015
    Options
    A fluid gain is just excess water build in the body right? Is it flushed out for example going to the bathroom? Usually whatever is left over is your official gains right?

Yes. I have have only just gotten a hand around my diet the past few weeks. I have noticed the weight gains have been huge and the weight usually stays around that lvl.