Does walking actually help?

Options

Replies

• jhouse16
    jhouse16 Posts: 2 Member
    Options
    I have a friend who lost 60lbs so far with just walking and diet change...my sister in law started her 100lb weight loss with walking and diet change..

I say go for it !!
  • sherbear702
    sherbear702 Posts: 649 Member
    Options
    Walking probably accounts for 80% of my exercise and I've lost almost 30 pounds. Yes, it's totally worth it.
  • reddeament
    reddeament Posts: 51 Member
    Options
    Thanks so much everyone!!! I've lost about 10 lbs just from changing up my eating habits, so I feel like I'm on my way to getting that under control. I might research a strength routine that's easy for beginners and isn't time consuming (I'm a college student) I really appreciate all of the advice!!

if you want a strength routine that isn't time consuming you could consider Freeletics? My friends have been on it for a while and swear by it. I recently joined and love the workouts (my body is aching the day after though hehe)
  • StaciMarie1974
    StaciMarie1974 Posts: 4,138 Member
    edited January 2016
    Options
    Its not as simple as that in my opinion.

Weight loss is a matter of having a deficit, which focuses on what & how much you eat. But calories in and calories both matter. If you increase your activity (walking) you may or may not lose weight. There are too many ifs. If you increase your activity and also increase your calories in (you may be hungrier with the extra walking) you probably won't see a weight loss. If you increase your activity AND make a conscious effort to track/log accurately what you're eating, and eat at a deficit: you should lose weight. Then again, you can do the logging and tracking and having a deficit without walking. But walking does have other added health benefits as well.