Energy Gels

Options
Training for a half marathon and have read that I should fuel my body at regular intervals. I have run for 90 minutes on an empty stomach quite happily, but do think I could do with a boost after an hour. Instead of lugging around water, I thought I might try an energy gel.

Can anyone give me some helpful info in these. Do they work? What's the best brand? What should I be looking for in terms of electrolytes, carbs etc.

Complete newbie. Help please :-)

Thanks

Replies

• AJ_G
    AJ_G Posts: 4,158 Member
    Options
    jdt242 wrote: »
    Do they work?

Yes they work, they're just fast digesting carbs giving your body quick energy that you will need. You don't even technically need energy gels. Candy works, I like mini starburst, they're pretty good. Gummy bears work too. It just has to be something that's basically just sugar, no fat or protein.
  • jdt242
    jdt242 Posts: 106 Member
    Options
    I'm sure I'd choke on a starburst - just my luck!
  • AJ_G
    AJ_G Posts: 4,158 Member
    Options
    I'm sure I'd choke on a starburst - just my luck!

Get a bag of the mini ones ;)
  • kwtilbury
    kwtilbury Posts: 1,234 Member
    Options
    Instead of lugging around water, I thought I might try an energy gel.

Energy gels are not a replacement for water. In fact, you should drink water after you consume a gel.

I haven't used them in a while by I used Powerbar and GU.
  • lemurcat12
    lemurcat12 Posts: 30,886 Member
    Options
    Yeah, they work. I don't use them in a half (I have in triathlons and am planning to in the marathon I'm training for), but it's worth experimenting with them to see if they help. Start trying them early (even if you aren't up to the mileage yet) as some people have negative reactions to them (stomach issues). You might want to see if just using a sports drink works for you instead.