Easing yourself into running.

Options
Hey there! I was hoping some seasoned runners could give me some tips for beginning running. Technique, gear, routine, prep, how to get over being embarrassed about being seen, etc. Any and everything helps. Thanks!

Replies

• girlinahat
    girlinahat Posts: 2,956 Member
    Options
    Have a look at a c25k programme (couch to 5k). It's a walk/run routine designed to gradually get you running longer periods. The original is here www.coolrunning.com

Go to a running shop and fitted for shoes, they should check your gait, and as to what to wear - whatever you are comfortable in. Layers are good.

Don't worry about what people think of you - if anything they'll just be jealous and impressed!
  • KatyP29
    KatyP29 Posts: 19 Member
    Options
    I'm no pro with running, but I started unable to jog for more than 2 minutes so to improve, when in the gym I would aim to spend 10 mins on the treadmill, starting with my 2 minute run and a speed walk then increasing slowly the time I would run taking away walking time, I would Walk, run, walk, run then gradually built up my time, I can now do a clear 5 minute run x2 (sometimes longer) with a slight breather in the middle during which I speed walk.

Hope this helps, just do the best you can and build up at your own speed, you'll get there. I still have far to go myself but I'm already proud to have come this far already from nothing :smile:
  • Hannahlosing
    Hannahlosing Posts: 32 Member
    Options
    Hi! I'm just starting up with running. I'm on week four of couch to 5k and it's great ! :smile:
  • Bev1983
    Bev1983 Posts: 1 Member
    Options
    I've done C25K and it's brilliant. I went from doing almost no exercise to being able to run 5k in the space of 3 months. Unfortunately, I didn't keep it up and I'm back to where I started but I'm planning to start it again soon.