Quick question on gym etiquette

Options
b_magill
b_magill Posts: 72 Member
edited January 2016 in Fitness and Exercise
This may be a small potatoes type of situation or not. I'm not sure, so I could use some advice.

At the gym the other day, I was wortking out and was rather a hot mess by that point with my sweaty self all huffing and puffing. Our gym has a "no selfies in the locker rooms" policy (which I get, lest you get a perv with a smartphone in there).

I'm running on a treadmill and a chick finished her short run, walks across the floor to stand directly behind my treadmill, makes the effort to get directly behind me and take a series of selfies while I'm running, all of them had to have included me and my ample backside, while she was meaning faces of disgust. I was the only other person on the cardio deck at that point, so it had to have been intentional.

I'm fairly new to the whole gym scene, so I have to ask if that sounds strange to anybody. I felt very uncomfortable, to the point of stopping and asking her what the hell she thought she was doing. She skittered off and wouldn't answer me as I followed her.

I know gym selfies are a thing, which I don't participate in, but fine. But what's the rule about your selfies if there's another person in them?

Replies

• zoeysasha37
    zoeysasha37 Posts: 7,088 Member
    edited January 2016
    Options
    It sounds like the girl could've just been taking selfies or you could be right , maybe she was taking pictures of you on purpose. Either way it would be hard to tell what her intention was. If I where in that situation I would've also asked her what she was doing. If she does this again then I would report her to the gym manager.