Sugar: good and bad?

Options
I eat a lot of fruit. I'm over my sugar every day, but I never feel a "sugar crash." Is it really bad, if it's mostly fructose (the type of sugar found in fruit)?

Replies

• janew68
    janew68 Posts: 37
    Options
    I'm wondering the same thing! I'm never over tremendously a lot, but sometimes by 10-15 grams. But it's come from fruit and veggies. I'm thinking the sugar from fruit and veggies are not bad, just like complex carbs found in whole grain etc. are not bad compared to refined carbs. I hope someone more "professional" answers=0)
  • SLambertAlaska
    SLambertAlaska Posts: 197 Member
    Options
    I'm no expert, but I am SURE that no one got fat by eating too many fruits and vegetables. If it's working for you - keep doing it!
  • GaveUp
    GaveUp Posts: 308
    Options
    Fruits and veggies are good carbs..... deduct your fiber from your carbs and that will be accurate carbs for the day.
  • Knightrobs
    Knightrobs Posts: 33 Member
    Options
    Sure no one got fat. But no one got skinny either.

Sugar is sugar. It still creates an insulin response and you will store that energy. The only difference between fruit and candy is that hopefully the fruit has a few more vitamins
  • registers
    registers Posts: 782 Member
    Options
    Fruits and veggies are good carbs..... deduct your fiber from your carbs and that will be accurate carbs for the day.
    [/quote

Are you talking about glycemic load?
  • registers
    registers Posts: 782 Member
    Options
    Sure no one got fat. But no one got skinny either.

Sugar is sugar. It still creates an insulin response and you will store that energy. The only difference between fruit and candy is that hopefully the fruit has a few more vitamins

Yes you're right about all carbs converting to sugar. THe difference is "how quickly" the insulin spikes. Candy will spike it a lot higher than a low glycemic carb.