I have a 'sugar' question

Options
airtyke
airtyke Posts: 6 Member
I'm only 13 days in to my new MFP regime and following a programme of eating mainly whole natural foods - fruit and veg - but also allow eg brown rice. I've cut out booze, crisps, sweets (candy), cow's milk and meat and have had some success, but I have noticed my sugar intake is still quite high presumably because I am consuming oranges, carrots, apples, all high in (natural) sugar.

I'm still fairly new to MFP so not sure if I am using it properly - is there anyway to differentiate between refined sugars and natural sugars? Am I right in thinking 5g of sugar from fruit is not as bad for you as 5g of sugar from (say) polo mints? Or am I fooling myself ?

Thanks in advance.

Replies

• yarwell
    yarwell Posts: 10,477 Member
    Options
    MFP's sugar target and accounting is all in total sugars from all sources, as that's what labels say. It should be at least 45 grams per day if you've re-run your goals in the last 2 years.

5g of sugar from fruit is broadly similar to 5g from polo mints but the fruit has some fibre and micronutrients that won't be in the polo mint.
  • MelaniaTrump
    MelaniaTrump Posts: 2,694 Member
    Options
    MPF will not allow you to differentiate between added sugars and natural sugars. I suspect this will happen in the future if nutrition labels are changed.
    I do not count sugar from fruits, veggies, and milk. Many people will tell you to keep added sugars to less than 20 grams a day.
  • airtyke
    Options
    Ok thanks both. So by replacing my sweet/candy habit with a fruit habit isn't really helping my sugar intake problem - but may have other non-sugar benefits eg more fibre. Hmmm, this cutting sugar lark is harder than I thought.

I do think it's a shame MFP can't assign sugars as either 'natural' or 'refined' in the same way fats are split into saturated and unsaturated. That's probably a labelling problem though as you say.