New to Salads

Options
Hello as the title suggests I am new to salads. For a long time I hated most veggies, but recently I tried and loved baby spinach. As I'm trying to eat better I'm trying to eat a salad a day, and am looking for additions to a spinach and orange salad for a very very picky eater. Thanks

Replies

• Sandytoes71
    Sandytoes71 Posts: 463 Member
    Options
    I eat a salad made of baby spinach, tomato, cuccumber, bell pepper, hard boiled egg, leftover meat if i have some and tuna. U can add nuts, or red beans cold. My salads usually end up with some combination of these things. I use an olive oil based dressing. You can add sliced raw mushrooms too. Gosh, there are soooo many different things u can make a salad from. You should probably try different things. My fattening salads used to be lettuce, tomato, cuccumber, cheese, bacon bits and lots of ranch dressing. And that is still my favorite salad ever, but I've made the choice to eat a more nutritious and less fattening salad. Be brave and try new foods. Good luck to u!
  • jacklifts
    jacklifts Posts: 396 Member
    Options
    My favorite easy salad is

Baby spinach
    Arugula
    Chopped baby carrots
    Chopped cherry tomatoes
    +
    Salt
    Balsamic vinegar

• QueenofHearts023
    QueenofHearts023 Posts: 421 Member
    Options
    I usually eat the same salad when I eat salad. Tomatoes, onions, feta, lettuce/spinach, cucumber, chicken/tuna, salt & pepper and balsamic reduction.
  • Linzon
    Linzon Posts: 294 Member
    Options
    I've taken to just putting whatever I'd normally eat on its own on a salad. Chili? On a salad. Stew? On a salad. Soup? ...well, maybe not soup.
  • lemmie177
    lemmie177 Posts: 479 Member
    Options
    I get the little tubs of gorgonzola/blue cheese at the store and they make for some delicious salads!